

## **2015 Election Summary Report**

Perry Catchings, Chair, NOBCChE Elections Committee NOBCChE.Elections@gmail.com

The 2015 NOBCChE Ballot included Officers (President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer), a respective Regional Chair, and two Executive Board positions. Voters had the option to abstain from voting or submit a write-in candidate in each category for the first round. Write-in candidates were not permitted for the second round run-off elections.

First round voting opened on April 27, 2015 at 12:00am and closed on May 15, 2015 at 11:59pm. The results concluded with a majority vote for all positions, except one of the executive board positions. On May 29, 2015, at 12:00 am EST, voting opened for the NOBCChE 2015 Election Run-off to break the tie for one of the remaining executive board positions. Unfortunately, due to a mistake, the official results of the 2015 National Elections were not communicated prior to the run-off. The election committee decided that this information must be communicated prior to initiation of the run-off voting process to ensure that informed decisions were being made. The voting process that began on May 29, 2015, at 12:00 am EST, was cancelled and a new run-off election began on June 1, 2015 and ended on June 6, 2015 at 11:59 pm. Final election results are listed below and detailed in the following table. Full details, outlined by region, are described in the full 2015 NOBCChE Elections Report.

NOBCChE Elections were setup electronically using the online voting system ElectionBuddy.com. Elections for the 5 NOBCChE regions (round 1) and the entire voting roster (round 2) in a "plurality format", meaning voters could select 1 or more candidates as specified by the voting system. A simple vote counting algorithm was used in which ballots were counted by the system and the candidate or candidates with the highest percentage of votes wins. In accordance with current NOBCChE Policy, individuals had to be a Full Member in good financial standing with dues paid by December 31, 2014.

## **Final Election Results**

- 1. President: Talitha Hampton, MSE
- 2. Vice-President: Kemal Catalan, PhD
- 3. Secretary: Sharon Barnes, DBA, MBA
- 4. Treasurer: Ella Davis, BS, MBA
- 5. Executive Board: Roderquita Moore, PhD
- 6. Executive Board: Simon Shannon, Ph.D.
- 7. West Regional Chair: Thomas Dill, BS
- 8. Marsha Cole, PhD
- 9. Murrell Godfrey, PhD
- 10. Racquel Jemison, PhD
- 11. Michelle Williams-Harry, PhD

Position	Candidates	First Round Final	% of Total Votes	Second Round Final	% of Total Votes
President	Talitha Hampton, MSE – (Current Vice President)	$\checkmark$	87%		
	Write-In: Dr. Victor McCrary		2%		
	Write-In: Perry Catchings		2%		
Vice-President	Kemal Catalan, Ph.D.	✓	90%		
Secretary	Sharon J. Barnes, DBA, MBA/HRM (Incumbent)	$\checkmark$	92%		
Treasurer	Ella Davis, BS, MBA (Incumbent)	✓	92%		
Executive Board	Victor R. McCrary, Jr., Ph.D. (Incumbent)	Tied	46.2%		40%
	Roderquita K. Moore, Ph.D.	✓	48.1%		
	Bobby Wilson, Ph.D. (Incumbent and Chairman)		36.5%		
	Write-In: Simon Shannon, Ph.D.	Tied	46.2%	✓	60%
	Write-In: Victor Atiemo-Obeng		1.9%		
West	Thomas Dill, B.S.	✓	80%		
Southwest	Marsha Cole, Ph.D. (Incumbent)	✓	100%		
Southeast	Murrell Godfrey, Ph.D.	✓	93%		
Northeast	Racquel Jemison, Ph.D.	$\checkmark$	78%		
Midwest	Michele Williams-Harry, Ph.D.	✓	81%		